Forum and Costume Controls

FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups  medals.php?sid=1278147020a804dd1fbaa0f03d1d53b2Medals   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in

REMINDER: Do not change your e-mail address yourself. Please read this first for why.

Packing Gown - Revamp

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Rebel Legion Forum Index -> Costume and Prop Making -> Royalty/Senatorial -> Padme
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Kam1kaze (Katharina)

Medals: None

PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 2:13 pm    Post subject: Packing Gown - Revamp Reply with quote

Hey Guys!
I'm new to the forum and this is my first project: i did a Packing Gown a few years back and i'd like to slowly revamp it to rebel legion standards with hope of submitting it some day. I'm in no rush though, i'll just add to it piece by piece.

This is the costume i have right now:

I plan on redoing almost everything tbh, here's my to do list so far:

1. Skirt:

The fabric i chose is obviously too thin/shiny and just doesn't look good. There's also not enough volume in the skirt. I plan on getting new fabric for this, maybe something like silk dupioni or shantung. Suggestions for skirt fabric would be highly apprecited as i haven't been able to find one i like so far! I already have a petticoat that i plan on wearing under the skirt.

2. Sleeves/Undershirt:

The sleeves are made out of a nice flowy silk fabric that i really like and i really like them. However they miss the dark gray piping at the cuffs and i think i could make them a bit more puffy. I also think my cuffs might be slightly too long and i would make them a bit shorter. The sleeves are not my first priority though as i think the overall look of them is ok.

3. Vest:

The vest is made out of a dark grey cotton velvet with a slight green tint. It appears black in some pics but i swear it isn't Laughing