Forum and Costume Controls

FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups  medals.php?sid=9c42af1ce59a7066532ad6f279aa7638Medals   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in

REMINDER: Do not change your e-mail address yourself. Please read this first for why.

Chewbacca in the Berk
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Rebel Legion Forum Index -> Costume and Prop Making -> Fringe -> Chewbacca and Other Wookiees
View previous topic :: View next topic  
illstr8or ()

Medals: None

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2015 5:52 am    Post subject: Chewbacca in the Berk Reply with quote

Hello fellow Wookiee builders. I'm just beginning my wookiee build and wanted to share my plan.

Feet:
Planning on using similar approach as other builders (gulywhumper) making my own boot using old shoes, wood for support and stability along with styrofoam for shape. Paired with Wookiee Toes from Zaxmon (Ryan Ricks). I'm 6'4" and targeting a wook height of around 7'3" relying on 8" lift in the boots along with the 3" or so of height the mask yields.

Mesh Undersuit:
I like the MoodFabrics Wonder Mesh that builders like Spycee used. Seems like a good rule for the sizing/fitment of the pants and shirt should be fitted but not tight. At the same time, not too loose. I have an idea to donate and old shirt and pair of jeans taken apart at the seams to use as pattern for the top and bottoms.

Hair:
I've researched and seems LA Trend seems like a good brand though maybe a little harder to find than the brand people seem to use from Texas Beauty Supply. I found a store on ebay (CyberloxShop) that has LA Trend brand. Either way, the techniques I'm finding here on mixing the color and amount of strands to use and the patterns to try/follow are super helpful. Again, Spycee's suit looks great.

Mask: