About Us Members Unit Listing Events Costuming Resources Forum Contact Us Trading Cards

Forum and Costume Controls

FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups  medals.php?sid=2d8745efb90a65b4f403980a791c45eaMedals   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in

REMINDER: Do not change your e-mail address yourself. Please read this first for why.

Leia ANH Belt

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Rebel Legion Forum Index -> Costume and Prop Making -> Royalty/Senatorial -> Leia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
kurisuchie2kimi (Kristie)

Medals: None

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 12:49 am    Post subject: Leia ANH Belt Reply with quote

Hey guys,

I'm currently in the process of making a Leia ANH costume for a friend, but I'm a bit hesitant/puzzled when it comes to the belt.

Specifically, the silver/aluminium parts. I'm new to costuming, and don't have a workshop (or any handy skills for that matter haha!) and am a little hesitant on cutting or using aluminium, so I was wondering what you all thought would be a good alternative?

I want it to be as close to the original as I can get, so I'm just wondering things like, spray painting vinyl/pleather silver, or something? Happy to hear any and all suggestions!!
Charybdis (Al d L.)
Active Legion Member

Medals: 1 (View more...)
Rebel Legion Supporter (Amount: 1)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I checked the standards and it does say that the belt should have 7 metal plates on it. Not sure if you would or could get away with a material like vinyl or leather for the belt plates...

RL member since 2006
Blue Ridge Base member
Nexus Temple - member
Docking Bay 94 - member

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 2:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote