Forum and Costume Controls

FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups  medals.php?sid=c1f3b3cab40bd5ae32643984c204cafcMedals   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in

REMINDER: Do not change your e-mail address yourself. Please read this first for why.

[WIP] Obi-Wan, Clone Wars seasons 3-6 build

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Rebel Legion Forum Index -> Costume and Prop Making -> Jedi -> Obi-Wan Kenobi
View previous topic :: View next topic  
groggydog ()
Active Legion Member

Medals: None

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2018 5:11 pm    Post subject: [WIP] Obi-Wan, Clone Wars seasons 3-6 build Reply with quote

Hi everybody!

A little over a year ago I decided to dress up as Ep. 3 Obi-Wan for New York Comic Con, and had an absolute blast compiling pieces of costume from Amazon, Etsy, and a few other places. I have no background in sewing or crafting, so I didn't make anything myself - just made small changes like dyeing the fabric in coffee. A few months after that, I got approved for Rebel Legion as a generic jedi.

Now, after a successful second Comic Con where I did a bit of actual crafting to make a loose Poe Dameron costume, I want to push myself a bit and see if I can turn my non-approved Obi-Wan costume into an approved Clone Wars S3-S6 costume in time for Star Wars Celebration in April.

Here's what I'm starting with (photo):

Front | Back

And here's what I believe I need to accomplish:

1) Fabricate bracers and glove armor from foam

This is the main purpose of the costume, learning how to craft armor with foam. I've already looked into Kamui Cosplay's guides and patterns for foam armor and feel good about getting into something completely new.

2) Update tabards

Should be easy enough, just need to make sure they stop at the obi in the back.

3) Update belt